Home > Blogs, Travel > Rome (day 5)

Rome (day 5)

Day 5 (23 December 2011)

Related posts: Rome Day 1 & 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5

Note: click on images to enlarge and click on links for further info.

Today is our last day in Rome. There were a number of sites that I wanted to see before leaving. We had an early breakfast and by 8AM we were already on the streets.

Our first destination was the Mausoleum of Augustus. Despite being the first Caesar, over time the mausoleum fell into constant neglect and carelessness. It was built in 28BC and now it’s almost a ruin. I was quite disappointed when I got there. We were only able to view it from outside the gates.

Tiber River

Tiber River

From there, we took a morning stroll along the Tiber River (Italian: Fiume Tevere) towards the Umberto I bridge (Italian: Ponte Umberto I). The view was breathtaking. I was able to capture the stunning view (above) from the Tiber looking towards the Vatican (the white dome in the background is St Peter’s Basilica).

Supreme Court of Cassation

Supreme Court of Cassation

At Umberto I Bridge, we saw the magnificent Supreme Court of Cassation, which is the the supreme court of Italy. Amazing architecture.

Emperor Hadrian Mausoleum

Emperor Hadrian Mausoleum

We went further on from Umberto I bridge and reached Saint Angelo bridge. This bridge gave us a splendid view Emperor Hadrian’s mausoleum (now known as Castel Sant’ Angelo). We explored the exterior of the Hadrian’s mausoleum as we didn’t had time to enter the museum.

Santa Maria del Popolo

Santa Maria del Popolo

From there, we walked back to Piazza del Popolo to take some photos. We were there yesterday but it was a bit dark for photos. We saw the famous Santa Maria del Popolo, and from there we walked along Via del Corso back to the hotel.

Roman street nuts

Roman street nuts

There are a number of interesting shops along del Corso. I even stopped to buy a packet of roasted nuts there. These roasted nuts are at every corner in Rome, so I reckon it must be a famous thing.

All in all I was very satisfied with my Rome trip. I have always wanted to see the wonders of ancient Rome, and now that it’s done, I might be inclined to visit other parts of Italy (such as Venice, Florence and Milan) in the future. Arrivederci Roma! Till next time!

To view the full set of photos I took in Rome, proceed to my Flickr page here.

Related posts: Rome Day 1 & 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5

Categories: Blogs, Travel Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

